Pinterest on a laptop

Pinterest Ninja Review: A Brilliant Pinterest Course For Beginners

Imagine waking up in the morning, checking your Google Analytics dashboard, and seeing that you received 10,000 new blog visitors overnight.  

This is the sort of thing that can happen when you learn how to create viral pins to promote your blog posts on Pinterest. In fact, 10,000 is the number of daily visitors that Megan Johnson, the creator of Pinterest Ninja, gets from Pinterest. 

Pinterest Ninja is one of the best Pinterest courses I’ve taken to date, and I’ve taken quite a few. It provides a great introduction to Pinterest and helps you lay the foundation to use Pinterest to grow your business. In this review, I’ll talk about the pros, cons, and all the details to help you decide whether Pinterest Ninja would be a good investment for you.

Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links as explained in my disclosure policy

What is Pinterest Ninja?

Pinterest Ninja Logo

Pinterest Ninja is an online course that teaches bloggers and digital entrepreneurs the fundamentals of using Pinterest to drive traffic to their websites. While bloggers are the main target audience for this course, the lessons apply to any online business owner that wants to drive more traffic and sales. For instance, there is a section on using Pinterest to promote an Etsy store.

The course is taught by Pinterest marketing expert and blogger, Megan Johnson. Megan runs the popular marketing blog, Love Family Health, and is also a full-time Pinterest account manager. I’ve been following her for years and have also worked with her one-on-one. Megan is not only a great teacher but also a genuinely nice person! 

In Pinterest Ninja, Megan uses a combination of text, videos, screenshots, and illustrations to teach the key concepts to help you develop an effective Pinterest strategy. She starts out with the technical stuff – how to set up a Pinterest account, confirm your website, and enable rich pins. Then she talks about branding your business and your Pinterest profile.

The remainder of the course goes into depth about the different components of Pinterest – group boards, pin design, Pinterest SEO, and Pinterest Analytics. By the time you complete this course, you’ll have a solid understanding of what Pinterest is, how it works, and how to use it to drive traffic to your blog or website.  

Who is Pinterest Ninja for?

Pinterest Ninja is for bloggers, online store owners, and other digital entrepreneurs who are brand new to Pinterest. If you’ve never used Pinterest before or have never used Pinterest for business, then Pinterest Ninja is for you. I bought this course back in February 2018, just when I was starting to use Pinterest to grow my blog, It helped me lay the foundation to get traffic from Pinterest by setting up my boards correctly, optimizing my profile for Pinterest SEO, and designing click-worthy pins.

If you’ve already been using Pinterest to get traffic, then much of the information in Pinterest Ninja will be review for you. There are some more advanced Pinterest traffic strategies later on in the course and tons of helpful tips for pin design. However, I think this course is best suited for complete beginners. If you’re already getting some traffic from Pinterest and want to increase it, I would recommend Pinteresting Strategies.

Click here to learn more about Pinterest Ninja and how it can help you grow your traffic.

My experience with Pinterest Ninja

Pinterest Ninja was the first Pinterest course I ever took. I credit this course with helping me set up my Pinterest account properly, understand how to perform keyword research, and become a pro at pin design. In my blogging career, I’ve three Pinterest courses:

  • Pinterest Primer (Free)
  • Pinterest Ninja ($69.99)
  • Pinteresting Strategies ($57)

Of these three, I believe that Pinterest Ninja is the best course for beginners. It breaks Pinterest down in layman’s terms so that you know exactly what all that Pinterest terminology means. Pins? Repins? Personal boards? Group boards? Pin conversion? All those terms will make complete sense after taking this course.

Upon completing the Pinterest Ninja lessons and implementing the strategies, I noticed results quickly. The first positive indicator that the strategies were working was an increase in my Pinterest monthly viewers. Then there was an increase in my monthly engaged users, the number of Pinterest users who interact with your pins (save, comment, click, or like). This is how the Pinterest stats for my travel blog changed within six months of taking Pinterest Ninja.

January 2018

=

July 2018

Pinterest monthly viewers represent your reach on Pinterest – the number of times users on Pinterest have seen the pins you’ve shared. For instance, I had 501,050 monthly viewers in July 2018. This means that Pinterest users saw my pins 501,050 times. From January 2018 to July 2018, my monthly viewers on Pinterest increased about 50 times.

The monthly viewers metric isn’t particularly useful when you have an established Pinterest account. That is when you’re getting a high volume of traffic (let’s say 20,000+ monthly page views) from Pinterest on a consistent basis. In fact, I call monthly viewers a vanity metric because it has no correlation to how many PAGE VIEWS you get from Pinterest.

Technically speaking, you can get 2,000,000 monthly viewers and receive zero page views from Pinterest. For instance, a fashion account can post pins of beautiful outfits that get millions of views and saves. However, people save those pins just for inspiration. They don’t actually click over to the fashion blog. This is why link clicks, not monthly viewers, are the number one metric you need to concern yourself with on Pinterest.

That said, when you’re building up a new Pinterest account, a growth in your monthly viewers is a welcome sign. It shows that your pins are being circulated and seen, which means your efforts are paying off. Now, you just need to focus on getting your pins to convert to link clicks.

In December 2017, before I started using Pinterest, I received 42 page views to my first blog. By June 2018, my page views had grown to 15,000. I can’t attribute 100% of that growth just to Pinterest Ninja because it wasn’t a perfect experiment. I took other courses at that time, too, and also wrote more content. However, I can say with confidence that the Pinterest keyword research and pin design skills I learned from Pinterest Ninja played a huge role in my traffic growth. Those skills helped me promote my content more effectively using Pinterest and draw more visitors to my blog.  

What do you learn in Pinterest Ninja?

Pinterest Ninja covers all the key components of Pinterest and the fundamental skills you need to master to use it effectively. There are currently two versions: an ebook and a full-length Teachable ecourse, which was added in 2020. The Teachable version is a fully online course with the option of downloading the full PDF version of the course as well to reference. The eBook is just that, an eBook with tutorial videos sprinkled throughout. The main difference between the two versions is the formatting and the price. The ebook is $69.99 while the Teachable course is $150.

I purchased the ebook, which is 100+ pages of content divided into 13 chapters. Here is an overview of what the chapters cover:

Chapter 1: How to Start a Blog in 15 Min

Chapter 2: Setting up Your Pinterest For Business Account,

Confirming Your Website with Pinterest & Enabling Rich Pins

Chapter 3: All About Branding

Chapter 4: Incorporating Your Brand Into Your Social Media Accounts 

Chapter 5: Pin Creation (with video)

Chapter 6: Using Pinterest Group Boards to Increase Your Traffic & how to find high performing boards, TailWind Tutorial

Chapter 7: Using Facebook Groups to Grow Your Following and How To Create Your Own Profitable Facebook Group! (with video)

Chapter 8: Using Pinterest to Grow Your Email List and The In’s and Out’s of Pinterest Analytics! (with video)

Chapter 9: Creating Pins that market your affiliates and how to start a Pinterest group board! (with video) 

Chapter 10: All About Affiliate Marketing (with video)

Chapter 11: Pinning Strategies & Pinterest Communities. 

Chapter 12: Pinterest SEO!

Chapter 13: Pinterest Metrics, Pin Conversion and how to expand your Facebook reach without having to pay!

What’s included in the course?

In addition to the 13 chapters of content, Pinterest Ninja comes with a number of bonuses to help students grow their traffic even faster. These are the bonuses: 

  • 367 Pinterest Group boards (organized by blogging niche) ALL accepting contributors, and who to email to get an invite. PLUS tips on increasing your chance of being accepted! 
  • 101 Facebook groups organized by blogging niche
  • 85 affiliate programs organized by blogging niche 
  • Private Facebook group for students

What I liked most about Pinterest Ninja

The lesson on keyword research 

By far the most important skill I gained from Pinterest Ninja is the ability to do keyword research effectively on Pinterest. When it comes to Pinterest traffic, you can get away with not-so-great pin design, but you will not be successful without proper use of keywords. I have watched the keyword research tutorial in Pinterest Ninja at least ten times. That’s how I came to master keyword research and use it to create pins that have been shared 5k, 10k, or even 70k times on Pinterest. One pin alone drove 2,300 page views to my site every month – for free!

The pin design tutorials

Another one of Megan’s strengths is that she has spent plenty of time experimenting with pin design. She also has a keen eye for design and shares her best tips for creating pins that stand out. In the course, Megan shows many examples of pins she has created and analyzes them. That way, you see first-hand what works and what doesn’t. She discusses how to emphasize words and numbers to appeal to your target audience. I haven’t found this level of attention to pin design in other Pinterest courses. 

Megan’s pin design strategy differs from other Pinterest experts with regard to branding. In other Pinterest courses I’ve taken, there has been a huge emphasis on branding your pins – that is giving them all the same look. Megan takes a different approach to branding on Pinterest. She creates pins that look completely different from each other. I followed this strategy and found that it was far more effective than the mainstream advice. I continue to use it even today as I build up a new Pinterest account for this blog. 

The emphasis on pin conversion

Pinterest Ninja not only teaches you how to create eye-catching pins but pins that convert to clicks. This is another factor that sets this course apart. So many other Pinterest gurus focus on pin impressions and brag about how their students are getting 100,000 monthly impressions. What’s the point of getting pin impressions if no one is clicking on your pins?

Megan dedicates a lesson to cover tips and tricks to get Pinterest users to click on your pins. She also teaches you how to calculate your pin conversion rate. Once you know your pin conversion rate, you can gage how well your pin is performing. Then you can make design tweaks to increase your conversion rate and get more visitors to your website. Pinterest Ninja keeps on your focus on metrics that ultimately make a difference in your business, not vanity metrics. 

The course creator’s accessibility

Not every course creator is available to students for questions and feedback. I’ve taken my fair share of courses that just give you the login information and leave you to your own devices. Pinterest Ninja is not one of them! I love how accessible Megan is to students. She hosts a monthly Pin Conversion Workshop for Pinterest Ninja students in the private Facebook group. Students can submit their pins and get a live critique. 

Outside the Facebook group, Megan is available by email to answer any questions, and she responds promptly. She genuinely cares about your success, which means she’ll go the extra mile to make sure you understand the concepts. After taking Pinterest Ninja, I was so impressed with Megan’s teaching style and knowledge that I decided to work with one-on-one. 

What I didn’t like so much about Pinterest Ninja

It’s focused on Tailwind scheduling as a pinning strategy

Tailwind is a Pinterest scheduling tool that allows you to automate your pinning. While it saves time, I don’t believe that those brand new to Pinterest should invest in it. I recommend that you spend at least 2-3 months pinning manually. That’s because the best way to learn how Pinterest works is to use it – to go on the platform every day, pin stuff, and see what happens firsthand. Using Tailwind doesn’t allow for that first-hand experience.

Pinterest Ninja recommends using Tailwind as the default pinning strategy for students. The problem is that Tailwind is an additional expense, starting at $9.99/month. There’s a free version, but it’s very limited. Also, Tailwind is an entirely new platform to master, with its own analytics, groups, and distinct features. If you’re still learning how Pinterest works, adding Tailwind on top of that can be a lot to juggle. It took me months to understand Tailwind’s features and how to use it properly to automate my pinning. 

Furthermore, I don’t believe you need to use Tailwind to be successful on Pinterest. In fact, manual pinning can actually be more powerful than automated pinning. Pinterest Ninja skips over manual pinning entirely and jumps straight to automated pinning. This is what I believe to be the biggest fault with the course. 

It promotes participating in Facebook share threads

It’s common for blogging groups on Facebook to have share threads or share days. These are opportunities for members to share their content with the group in hopes of getting more traffic. For instance, in a Pinterest share thread, you would share a link to your pin as a comment on a dedicated post. For every member who saves your pin, you are required to reciprocate the favor. 

Share threads can have hundreds of participants, which means you may end up saving other people’s pins for hours. I know. I participated in those threads for several months, sometimes spending as much as three hours a day sharing other people’s pins. With a few exceptions, it was a complete waste of time. 

The return on investment for participating in share threads was terrible. For all those hours spent sharing other people’s content, I might get maybe 10-20 new visitors a week. It was simply not worth it. Pinterest Ninja suggests participating in share threads as a way to grow your following and traffic, and includes a list of Facebook groups to join. Based on my experience, I don’t think this is a good strategy. You’re better off focusing on other areas, like increasing your pin conversions or designing better pins. Pinterest Ninja teaches you how to do those two things well. 

Is Pinterest Ninja worth the money?

Pinterest Ninja is packed with valuable information and actionable tips to help you get started on Pinterest the right way. Based on the keyword research training alone, I think this course is well worth it.  For $70, you can demystify Pinterest once and for all and use it as a tool to grow your business year after year. Most Pinterest courses of this caliber cost $200-$400 so Pinterest Ninja is a more affordable choice for beginners. 

Final thoughts 

Pinterest Ninja is a great course for bloggers and other online business owners who want to use Pinterest effectively to grow their traffic and income. It’s ideal for beginners who want to understand the fundamentals, set up their accounts properly, master Pinterest SEO, and design click-worthy pins. There are many moving parts to Pinterest, and this course neatly ties them all together. 

The best thing about Pinterest Ninja is the course creator. Whatever faults the course may have, Megan makes up for it with her genuine commitment to students’ success and her accessibility. I truly believe that if you apply the strategies in this course, you can rapidly grow your traffic, just like thousands of other Pinterest Ninja students. 

Pinterest Ninja Banner

One more thing: if you liked this post: please share it!